The University of Queensland wins inaugural Aon Women's University 7s Series

The University of Queensland has continued their amazing form in the inaugural season of the Aon Women's University 7s Series by going through undefeated and winning round four of the competition held at Bond University on Saturday.

The University of Queensland defeated Macquarie University in the gold medal match 14-12 - ensuring they claimed a Uni 7s grand slam - winning all four of the Series legs and finishing on 80 points.

It was an incredibly tough battle for the bronze medal between University of Tasmania and Bond University with the match culminating in a late try for the Tasmanians. Aussie 7s gold medallist, Nicole Beck had the crowd on the edge of their seats as she lined up for the winning kick but a strong breeze and a difficult position meant the ball sliced to the left, resulting in Bond University finishing third.

In the overall standings for the Series, Bond University came in second behind The University of Queensland with Macquarie University finishing in third position.

Australian University Sport CEO Don Knapp said: “The significant advances the Series has experienced in its inaugural year are greatly encouraging – not only in the quality of sport on display, but in the level of media and commercial interest generated."

"The Series is a great example of multiple partners working together to achieve shared, organisational aims. The foundation of a formal pathway for elite female student-athletes in rugby 7s has certainly been forged this year."

“Australian University Sport looks forward to growing the Series in 2018 in partnership with the Australian Rugby Union and competing universities.”

The University of Queensland Captain Mackenzie Sadler said: “To go 20 games undefeated is a massive credit to the girls, to Reg and all our staff, it’s amazing."

“Every game we focus on working for each other and we go together and we play for each other. I think it’s the team spirit."

“We spoke about the first round coming into this tournament, how when we came into this tournament with nothing to lose and gave it everything. I’m so proud of the girls.”

The University of Queensland's head coach Reg Taylor said: “I was just thinking back to when we put this team together, I knew we had a good squad but to go four from four with 20 games straight, it’s fantastic."

“Everything we have asked them to do they have done, we’ve had our glitches along our way, but we’ve just stood up. All 12 of them have stood up and done their jobs and I’m proud of them.”

Macquarie University Captain Emily Chancellor said: “We had a really good day one and I thought our day two performances were pretty good but we just couldn’t get across the line."

“They (The University of Queensland) are a great team and as a club team they spend a lot of time together and that shows when they get on the field."

“Across the board we have improved every single tournament. I have been so impressed with the standard of the tournaments from Tasmania all the way through to today and I can’t thank the ARU enough for putting it on as it is such a fantastic opportunity for us to come out and play.”

Aon Chief Executive Growth Officer, Scott Willmot said: “A big congratulations to The University of Queensland for winning the championship!"

“We’re extremely proud of the Uni 7s series and its overwhelming success. It’s been an absolute delight to have witnessed the teamwork and skills displayed and to play our role in supporting grassroots and pathway opportunities.”

2017 Aon Uni 7s Series Standings: 

1. The University of Queensland, 80 points
2. Bond University, 68 points
3. Macquarie University, 66 points
4. Griffith University, 50 points
5. University of Canberra, 40 points
6. The University of Adelaide, 40 points
7. University of Tasmania, 38 points
8. University of New England, 34 points

​Photo credit: ARU media/Sportography

  • ASC
  • AIS
  • beyondblue
  • Bulk Nutrients
  • CPA Australia
  • Defence Force Recruiting
  • JanSport
  • Kukri
  • Mainfreight
  • Red Bull
  • Riot Games
  • Singapore Airlines
  • Stay Oz
  • UniBank