Watch the inaugural Aon Women’s Universities Sevens Series LIVE!

The inaugural Aon Women’s University Sevens Series kicks off on Friday 25 August at the University of Tasmania Stadium, Launceston. Marking a significant step in the development of Women’s Rugby Sevens, the tournament will showcase one of the fastest growing sports worldwide.

For the first time in history, the Australian Women’s Sevens squad will be distributed across the eight competing teams, playing alongside elite student-athletes from each region and respective universities.

Making its way along the east coast from August to September, the five-week tournament will include teams from Macquarie University, The University of Queensland, Bond University, University of Canberra, University of New England, Griffith University, University of Tasmania, and The University of Adelaide.

Australian University Sport CEO Don Knapp said the Series is part of a nationwide shift to create elite sporting pathways for female student-athletes.

“This collaborative initiative between Australian University Sport, competing universities and the Australian Rugby Union provides elite student-athletes with a ground-breaking pathway to the Olympic and Commonwealth Games podia, while at the same time preparing them for a career beyond sport through dual career education while at university,” Mr Knapp said.

"This program is a great example of multiple partners working together to achieve shared, organisational aims; the pathway this program creates for elite female athletes in rugby sevens is indeed exciting.”

The tournament will be streamed at, with fans able to watch all the action LIVE. Supporters can also head down to the University of Tasmania Stadium to catch the first round on Friday 25-26 August, and cheer on the ladies sporting their university colours!

2017 Aon Women’s University Sevens Series Draw:

Round 1: Friday 25 August-Saturday 26 August, University of Tasmania Stadium, Launceston
Round 2: Saturday 9 September-Sunday 10 September, Macquarie University Sporting Fields, Sydney
Round 3: Saturday 16 September-Sunday 17 September, University of Queensland Fields, Brisbane
Round 4: Friday 29 September-Saturday 30 September, Bond University Rugby Field, Gold Coast

  • ASC
  • AIS
  • beyondblue
  • Bulk Nutrients
  • CPA Australia
  • Defence Force Recruiting
  • JanSport
  • Kukri
  • Mainfreight
  • Red Bull
  • Riot Games
  • Singapore Airlines
  • Stay Oz
  • UniBank