Red Bull Campus Cricket heads to Perth to decide Australia’s representative for World Finals

The University of Sydney T20 cricket side represented Australia at the Red Bull Campus Cricket World Finals held in Sri Lanka earlier this month. The team made it to the World Finals on the back of a win at Red Bull Campus Cricket Australia, held in conjunction with the Australian University Games.

Launched in 2012, Red Bull Campus Cricket is an annual international T20 tournament for university cricket teams, providing a platform for young talent to play on a world stage. Now in its fifth year, Red Bull Campus Cricket heads to Perth from 25-30 September 2016 to decide which team will be named Red Bull Campus Cricket Australia champions, and represent Australia at the World Finals in 2017.

Australian University Sport CEO, Don Knapp stated the opportunities this year’s event offers student-athletes will be second to none.

“Events such as Red Bull Campus Cricket and the Australian University Games provide student-athletes with the opportunity to pursue a dual career education and sport pathway, in turn contributing to better retention and completion rates for today’s student-athletes enrolled in tertiary education,” Mr Knapp said.

“The competition activates broader participation at both elite and social levels across the 13 competing universities. Participants will experience the highest quality intervarsity competition available in Australia at some of the best sporting facilities in the country.”

The University of Sydney team earned their spot in the World Finals after defeating The University of New South Wales in last year’s Australian National Final held at the 2015 Australian University Games on the Gold Coast.

Perth will host 13 teams across three venues commencing on 26 September. The tournament attracts some of the nation’s best student cricketers and gives spectators an exciting spectacle with world class cricket.

  • ASC
  • AIS
  • beyondblue
  • Bulk Nutrients
  • CPA Australia
  • Defence Force Recruiting
  • JanSport
  • Kukri
  • Mainfreight
  • Red Bull
  • Riot Games
  • Singapore Airlines
  • Stay Oz
  • UniBank