AUS Awards

Every year many outstanding performances and contributions are recorded by student-athletes participating in university sport in Australia and in the international sporting arena. Australian University Sport recognises these performances under a national university sport award scheme called the Australian University Sport Awards.

The awards have been conducted since 2001 and are for the recognition and reward of student-athletes for their outstanding sporting performance and contribution to university sport. In 2015 three further awards were introduced to represent the efforts of a broader cross-section of university student-athletes and recognise leadership programs universities deliver within their local communities. 

Previous AUS Award winners include Grant Hackett, Cate Campbell, Dane Bird-Smith, Dylan Alcott and the Raise the Bar Academy (Melbourne University).

Nominations for the AUS Awards open in October each year. Information on the 2017 AUS Awards is available here.

2016 AUS Awards

Coach of the year
Michael Shaw (The University of Western Australia)

Community Leadership Award
The University of Western Australia Hockey Club

Team of the Year
Monash University 3x3 basketball (2015 World University League)

Female Athlete of the Year
Amy James (Queensland University of Technology, World University Rowing Championship)

Male Athlete of the Year
Cyrus Monk (The University of Melbourne, World University Cycling Championship)

Most Outstanding Performance AWD
Ellie Cole (Australian Catholic University, Rio 2016 Paralympic Games - Swimming)

Most Outstanding Performance - Indigenous Student-Athlete
Ryan James (Griffith University, Gold Coast Titans)

Most Outstanding Performance
Emilee Cherry (The University of Queensland, Rio 2016 Olympic Games Women’s Rugby Sevens)

2015 AUS Awards

Most Outstanding Sporting Performance

Bronte Campbell (swimming) – Queensland University of Technology

Most Outstanding Sporting Performance by an Athlete with a Disability

Dylan Alcott (tennis) - The University of Melbourne

Male Athlete of the Year

Dane Bird-Smith (athletics) - The University of Queensland

Female Athlete of the Year

Holly Barratt (swimming) – The University of Western Australia

Team of the Year

Women’s rowing team – The University of Melbourne

Coach of the Year

Edward Denis (water polo) - Monash University

Community Leadership

Raise the Bar Academy – The University of Melbourne


Life Members

John Campbell

Inducted 2003

Tony Collings OAM

(1937 - 2010)
Inducted in 2003

Robert Lawton

Inducted in 2003

Alf Lazer AM

Inducted in 2003

Paul Manning

Inducted in 2003

Hugh McKechnie

Inducted in 2003

Helen Ann Mitchell OAM

Inducted in 2003

James Voght

Inducted in 2003

Stephen Griffith

Inducted in 2004

Bruce Meakins

Inducted in 2004

Chris Solly

Inducted in 2006

Greg Harris

Inducted in 2008

Kevin Stapleton

Inducted in 2008

Jeff Fitzgerald

Inducted in 2010

Tom O'Sullivan

(1957 - 2011)
Inducted in 2012

Tim Lee

Inducted in 2016

Shane Alvisio

Inducted in 2016

  • ASC
  • AIS
  • beyondblue
  • Bulk Nutrients
  • CPA Australia
  • Defence Force Recruiting
  • JanSport
  • Kukri
  • Mainfreight
  • Red Bull
  • Riot Games
  • Singapore Airlines
  • Stay Oz
  • UniBank